Ching Shih Costume

My costume is slowly coming together. For the lower skirt part of Ching Shih’s outfit I decided to use a mesh that reminds of a fishing net used on ships (referring to her profession as a pirate lord. I used wire to create a voluminous skirt. Then I created roses from red and black tissue paper, which I glued to the mesh. I was thinking about the symbol of the rose often used in the Hunger Games as a symbol for the evil President Snow. The colour red is also a symbol for the Red Flag Fleet, Ching Shih’s pirate fleet.

Creating the skirt was quite complicated and it kept falling apart. If I had more time I would put more roses on the skirt but since my final piece is a character illustration it is less important to have a flawless and completed version of my outfit. img_0883

Leave a Reply

