Visual Communication and Clevedon

For my first project I decided to choose Visual Communication. Inspired by a postcard we have to create 4 further postcards in 4 different styles (typography, illustration, illustration and text, collage) and an advertising campaign for the place on our postcard. I was very excited to start this project when I picked Clevedon as my place of inspiration. The problem with Clevedon is that it is technically an old-people’s home and I have no real connection to it. It seemed quite challenging to authentically advertise this town.

The Victorian Pier is Clevedon’s trademark, which is why I am considering using the symbol in one of my postcards. Clevedon was also an attractive town in Victorian times. Steam paddlers would transport people from Devon to Clevedon, which was popular for its beach.

Leave a Reply

